Skip to Content
Courses

The Resilient Legacy Of Thirsk Racecourse – From Wartime Classics To Herriot Country

Widely regarded as one of the most picturesque racecourses in the country, Thirsk Racecourse has that atypical North Yorkshire charm, including the welcoming hospitality that is characteristic of the region.

Pairing a tranquil country garden vibe with competitive, high-action sprinting, you can witness some of the most entertaining flat racing in the country.

It is also located in the hometown of Thomas Lord; the founder of Lord’s Cricket Ground in addition to James Herriot (the iconic literary vet), with the track often incorporating local themes into its racing fixtures.

From Royal Approval To The Bell Family

Entrance to Thirsk Racecourse
Entrance to Thirsk Racecourse by JThomas, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

In the wider Thirsk area, horse racing dates back as far as 1612 on the hills of nearby Hambleton and received historical patronage from King James I and Queen Anne prior to shutting down in 1811.

Meanwhile, in 1854, Frederick Bell; a local landowner, offered his estate at Thirsk Hall for the establishment of a permanent track with the inaugural meeting being held on March 15, 1855 and operated on a modest budget totalling £700. In remarkable fashion, the racecourse is still owned and maintained by the Bell family today.

Edward, Prince of Wales (later King Edward VII) was a high-profile visitor in October 1895 which prompted the construction of a temporary “Royal Pavillion”, built in the middle of the course and accommodated a considerable, record crowd.

The Wartime “St Leger” Milestone

Arguably the greatest historic claim to fame dates back to World War II when Thirsk hosted the St Leger Stakes, with Doncaster Racecourse being requisitioned for military use.

Favourite Turkhan, owned by the Aga Khan and steered by the legendary Sir Gordon Richards won the 1940 Classic and is a notable course memory. Not long after this historic milestone, the course closed down for the rest of the war and served as an active military base for the Allied war effort, reopening in 1946.

The Track Layout And Its Agility Test

Thirsk Racecourse
Thirsk Racecourse by DS Pugh, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Famously known in flat racing to be a sharp, left-handed oval circuit that spans one mile and two furlongs exactly with a flat four-furlong straight run-in, there is also a sprint track which has noticeable undulations.

In addition, on the home straight, there is a pronounced, subtle ride on the turn into the home straight, with this demanding brilliant balance, favouring neat and nimble horses as opposed to bigger gallopers.

As such, when the ground is good or faster, horses that are picked in high numbers (closest to the standside rail), boast a major advantage tactically.

The Connection To Herriot

Famous vet Alf Wright, who wrote under the pen-name of (James) Herriot, practiced in Thirsk and often worked as the official on-duty course vet on race days. The racecourse heavily leans into this legacy and in 1995, opened the James Herriot Hall which frequently hosted the “All Creatures Great and Small” Family Day.

Thirsk has been a firm favourite among racegoers of North Yorkshire for decades and firmly embodies the quaint, family atmosphere vibe that many bigger racecourses don’t have.